I wracked my brain to figure out how I could squeeze in time to write, what with work, and parenting, and eating and drumming and happy hours and parties at my friends houses and halloween, and soon it will be Thanksgiving and then we’re going on vacation before Christmas, and what about the weekends? I have places to be and people to see, flights to take and then I have to vote. Next Tuesday I have to vote. Living takes up time.

I wanted some kind of mini computer that I could pull out and it would turn big and I could bring it with me always and write all over wherever I was. Sitting on the toilet was going to be my go to spot. Private, at least. A phone with a real keyboard. That would help.

But then I finally came to a conclusion. There’s no way around the simple fact that the only way I’m going to be able to write again, and for at least two hours a day (I want more, but two every day would probably get me somewhere over the long run) is to get up at 5AM every weekday and write until 7AM. And in order to do that, I have to be in bed by 10AM (cause I’m that old). And to do that, I need to have my nighttime chores, basically making sure the kitchen is clean, by then. And then I have to stop staying up with my wife to watch “just one more” episode of the Gilmore Girls. Will Rory and Lorelei finally stop being stupid and make up? They did.

Will I do it? Hell, I don’t want to say, because it really doesn’t matter. In fact I told myself that I should not  post about what my writing plan was, because no one cares, and it’s more important to do it than to say you’re going to do it. If I write, and produce, then maybe one day someone will ask me, “what is your routine?” And then I can say, “just like so many other writer’s routines. I get up too fucking early.”

But until then, I really should just write about whatever else I can write about. That said, I really wanted to post something, since today is the first day that I’ve actually tried to start this new routine, on my daughter’s laptop actually, which she has foresaken because apparently it shuts off whenever it wants to, but so far so good for me,  knock wood. My own chromebook needs to be recovered, so it says, but when I try it still needs to be recovered, needy little fuck, but actually it has been a good ol’ wagon. I would get another, but for the fact this laptop is lying around.

So, there you go. I posted something, which is better than nothing. And in fact, this blog is where I post stuff that doesn’t have to be good. I have no standards here.

